Thursday, May 27, 2010

Review: Sex And The City 2 Soundtrack

Sex and the City 2 is being released in theaters today and I cannot wait to see it! I became a SATC fan shortly after the series debuted on HBO. The clever writing, "envelope-pushing" humor and the chemistry of the uber-talented cast sucked me right in and I haven't been able to get enough since. Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda remain my favorite fictional foursome ever.

So, when the One2One Network gave me an opportunity to review the movie soundtrack, there was no way I could resist.

The perfect accessory for a girl's night out, this diva-licious soundtrack features a brand-new duet, "Love is Your Color" by Grammy and Academy Award winner Jennifer Hudson (who, if you'll recall, played the role of Carrie's assistant in the first Sex And The City movie), along with multi-platinum recording artist and Grammy nominee Leona Lewis. Other highlights include the ladies of Sex and the City performing the Helen Reddy classic "I Am Woman", appearances from Grammy, Emmy, Golden Globe, Tony and Academy Award winner Liza Minnelli and an extraordinary cover of the Blondie hit "Rapture" by 12-time Grammy winner Alicia Keys.

Track Listing:
1. Rapture - Alicia Keys
2. Everything to Lose - Dido
3. Language of Love - Cee Lo
4. Window Seat - Erykah Badu
5. Kidda - Natacha Atlas
6. Euphrates Dream - Michael McGregor
7. Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It) - Liza Minnelli
8. Can't Touch It - Ricki-Lee
9. Empire State of Mind (Part II): Broken Down - Alicia Keys
10. Love Is Your Color - Jennifer Hudson and Leona Lewis
11. I Am Woman - Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis and Cynthia Nixon
12. If Ever I Would Leave You - Sex and the City Men's Choir
13. Sunrise Sunset - Sex and the City Men's Choir
14. Till There Was You - Sex and the City Men's Choir
15. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered - Shayna Steele, Jordan Ballard and Kamilah Marshall
16. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye - Liza Minnelli with Billy Stritch
17. True Colors - Cyndi Lauper
18. Divas and Dunes - Aaron Zigman

If you're the typical girl who can't decide on which outfit to wear, you'll love this album.

Many of the songs have a distinct Arabian feel (as the film is largely set in Abu Dabai) which made me feel like the Princess of Persia. But there is a sprinkling of just about any genre or musical style you could want. From dance pop to neo-soul to ballads and Broadway, there's a little bit of everything here to shake your groove thang while you get dolled up or turn that hairbrush into a microphone.

My favorite tracks were the effervescent, electro-pop ditty "Everything to Lose" by Dido, the exotic "Language of Love" by Cee Lo, the irresistible sassy dance track, "Can't Touch It" (which is currently being featured in the trailer), and of course, anything by Alicia Keys is simply brilliant. Her piano-centric version of "Empire State of Mind" is just as moving as the original, in my opinion. I loved the 80's nods with Cyndi Lauper's classic "True Colors", which any girl my age can belt along to, and Alicia Keys' outstanding cover of Blondie's "Rapture". It definitely sets the stage for an amazing ladies night!

Now, I'm normally not a huge fan of showtunes but I have to admit the songs sung by the SATC Men's Choir are pretty darned good too. "Sunrise Sunset" from Fiddler On The Roof was probably my favorite Broadway number on the album. I actually found myself hitting repeat to hear it again and again.

Bottom line: Before you hit the town for cosmos with your companions, you'll want to set the mood with this party gem.

BUY IT: The Sex and the City 2 soundtrack is available now on (ARV $11.99).

You can also listen to some of the tracks from the soundtrack and learn more about Sex and the City 2 by becoming a fan on Facebook!

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this album from One2One Network to facilitate my candid review. I was in no other way compensated for this post. The thoughts and opinions expressed here are solely mine. Your experience may differ.


thriftymomma said...

I follow you now from

Blog Widget by LinkWithin